VOTING DAY!

Election day!

Lisa and Ron go to the polls!

On Tuesday morning, Ron and I were very excited to have the opportunity to vote in this incredibly important election for our next President of the United States!  Now don’t get me wrong…EVERY election is historic and important…but with all that our country has been going through lately, and knowing how much worse things could get before they get better, this one seems even more so.

Anyone who knows me well, knows that I am about as “conservative” as you can get when it comes to certain political issues.  While some of my social views tend to be more middle-of-the-road, even leaning toward liberal at times, my views on the proper role of government are unabashedly conservative.  So it is no secret that I chose to vote for John McCain in the election.

Going into this election, I will be honest that the thought of now President-Elect Barack Obama becoming the 44th President of the United States made me very nervous.  While I certainly liked the “idea” of change, I wasn’t sure that the kind of change he seemed to represent (based on his somewhat limited, but extremely liberal, voting record in the Senate and some of his not-too-smart past associations) would ultimately be best for this country.

President-Elect Barack Obama

President-Elect Barack Obama

HOWEVER, that being said, now that President-Elect Barack Obama IS going to be the next leader of this great country of ours, I am choosing to stand behind him and I will support him.  And I urge everyone else to do the same.  Whatever differences I may have with some of his views politically, I also have great respect for this man.  I sincerely believe that in his heart he wants what’s best for this country, and I think that he is intelligent enough to not try to push through an excessively liberal agenda (at least not for a while) knowing that most people in the country are middle-to-right in their views, regardless of who they voted for.

It’s time for this country to begin to mend…it’s time to heal…and it’s time to move forward.  So I sincerely congratulate President-Elect Barack Obama, the 44th President of the United States of America!  May God bless him, and may God bless our country…

One thought on “VOTING DAY!

Leave a comment